how to get gapps on ifroyo

Device drivers and Android system development

Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo

by wlt333 » Wed Jul 07, 2022 7:29 pm

Even though iDroid Froyo has no Wi-fi on2G yet, I tried to at least place the apps on my system using adb over usb, but it says I ran out of space on ym device, so it stops on LatinIME.apk
wlt333
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon May 10, 2022 2:14 am

Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo

by grendell » Wed Jul 07, 2022 11:46 pm

wlt333 wrote:Even though iDroid Froyo has no Wi-fi on2G yet, I tried to at least place the apps on my system using adb over usb, but it says I ran out of space on ym device, so it stops on LatinIME.apk

Check out dario's suggestion:
http://www.idroidproject.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=799&start=20#p8927

grendell
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri May 28, 2022 4:31 am
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo

by snagra » Thu Jul 08, 2022 2:22 am

Thanks worked perfectly.
snagra
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 21, 2022 8:38 pm

Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo

by Kiff » Fri Jul 09, 2022 6:22 pm

Thanks man, works perfectly.
Tried to download an app (Advanced Task Killer), but keeps on "Installing". Anyone else have this problem?

Glad I can test the standard Gapps already...
Kiff
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2022 6:36 am

Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo

by snagra » Fri Jul 09, 2022 6:56 pm

Kiff wrote:Thanks man, works perfectly.
Tried to download an app (Advanced Task Killer), but keeps on "Installing". Anyone else have this problem?

Glad I can test the standard Gapps already...


Yes I have that problem too.
snagra
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 21, 2022 8:38 pm

Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo

by yunk » Fri Jul 09, 2022 7:22 pm

if you are stuck on "installing" make sure you have enough space to install the app to your phone (you are not getting a low space error)
cancel the install and try again.
yunk
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2022 11:08 pm

Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo

by Kiff » Fri Jul 09, 2022 10:25 pm

Got about 20Mb free, and ATK and ADW Launcher aren't that big. Also not seeing any errors anywhere...
Maybe it defaults to installing on SD, which isn't available?

Too bad there isn't much logging available.
Kiff
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2022 6:36 am

Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo

by Droid_junkie » Sat Jul 10, 2022 7:36 pm

nope, it downloads the file to userdata.img.
Droid_junkie
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon May 24, 2022 7:54 pm

Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo

by Tazbo28 » Sat Jul 10, 2022 8:49 pm

well, i setup ifroyo on my 3g for the second time now. i was using 1.6 and it was waay faster than 2.2 but 2.2 works mostly well and looks better, so i decided to go back.

i used a windows 7 64 bit pc to do all of this. ubuntu was giving me a royal headache. so after installing the sdk i ran the sdk update exe, got all that done. then i adb connected to the phone while it was running android with wifi on. i found that the commands were a little different for the command prompt than linux terminal

instead of "./adb" you would type "adb"

basically all on the adb wiki, it tells you what to input all the way up to mounting and pushing the files over. what also happens is that BEFORE you execute the push command, you have to dir to the "sdk/tools" folder. because this is where the apps/ folder is that you will transfer. remember to also include the "tools" entry since your adb file is in there along with the app folder so once you get to that, then you can execute the push command in windows by typing:

"adb push app /system/app"

in the wiki it says to include the "/" before the first app but the computer will not understand and think that "/" is part of the file name, so dont include it. and put a space after app before /system. i did it that way and it finally started copying. once it finishes type:

adb shell
chmod 6755 /system/app/SetupWizard.apk
reboot

BAMMM! now im stuck on the google account sign in screen! it says that it may take up to five minutes! i think its been longer though. hope this helps some newbs like me using a pc!

***BUAAAAAHHHH xo, well, i was so close. i think i have corrupted android by hard rebooting it to get out of the google setup screen. i guess its starting all over for me then (((((

*UPDATE** ok i found these instructions for what to do during the bootup...

Welcome to iPhone
> Tap the "Android Logo"

Learn how to use your iPhone
> Tap "SKIP"

Set up your Google Account
> Tap "SKIP"

Use Google location
> Up to you and Tap "Next"

Date and time settings
> Up to you and Tap "Next"

Go setup your wifi and make sure there is an internet connection
Open up Gmail/GoogleTalk/Market
You will see the setup wizard again, complete the wizard and let it verify your account.
After that you should be able to run Market, this should fix all the G App that is in the OS.

----thanks to whoever posted the tutorial in this thread---->NAiDroid2G Installer 0.2a[Linux/Windows]

***update*** SO i re-installed ifroyo but with version 1.3-D since i read it was faster. i cant really tell. but i reinstalled gapps. now it works great!!
Tazbo28
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2022 9:31 pm

Re: how to get gapps on ifroyo

by yunk » Sun Jul 11, 2022 2:38 am

As i was searching for some apps in the market place i noticed some apps were not there like pandora and pdanet. I think the reason for this is since froyo has not been official released to phones except the nexus one some protected apps are not shown in the market place to phones running 2.2. does any one else seem to have this problem.
yunk
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2022 11:08 pm

PreviousNext

Return to iDroid development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot], kohhx, razzn, wertasd and 6 guests